Live customer support system Demo Signup Forums Downloads Contact

Sending variables from other application

Q and A related to PHP and JavaScript

Moderator: Ace

Sending variables from other application

Postby igonzalez » Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:37 pm

Hey guys,

Here is our scenario: We have a web application for our customers, so, when a problem occurs, we know what was it.

Since we know what the problem is in our application, we would like to auto send the username and the problem as variables to our liveadmin chat, so the user doesn't have to do that.

Any suggestions?
Last edited by igonzalez on Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
igonzalez
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:30 pm

Re: Sending variables from other application

Postby gadgetologist » Sat Nov 20, 2010 6:02 pm

Any word on this?
This seems really important.
I've been looking for this and none of these products seem to provide this capability IF you can get them to understand the question or even answer the message!!!

Seriously.... 5 weeks on this and counting and still nothing?
gadgetologist
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:47 pm

Re: Sending variables from other application

Postby igonzalez » Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:14 pm

Oh man, I was hopping your post was some guy from Live Admin with a solution.

I like Live Admin, but the support is really slow, they took weeks just to accept our payment!
igonzalez
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 6:30 pm

Re: Sending variables from other application

Postby gadgetologist » Sat Nov 20, 2010 8:33 pm

Sorry to disappoint... but perhaps that jolt of hopefulness was good for you :D
Outrageous. I've looked a so many of these guys and I can say that several of them suffer from the same kind of shoddy support. However, without exageration, this is the worst. Others took days (not weeks) and at least had some documentation.

Anyway, this question you've posed is a key differentiator for us. So many of the other features are either the same, similar, or not critical. But having to inconvenience a customer by asking them to put information in that we know --- on a computer, just because two apps can't talk to each other? That's absurd! I hate it when I repeat myself to support people on the phone. Typing it would piss me off every time! Besides, it's just plain stupid.... and stupid is annoying.

Sorry... good luck with this product. It sounds like you like it. I bought a different one 8 months ago, good support, good most everything... except? You guessed it, can't pass params. And everyone's solution to this issue (if and when they understand), "you can always customize the php yourself". Yeah, and deal with the upgrade crap for the rest of my life? Been there, hated it.

One more thing... I noticed there was a requirement to enable your license. I found that interesting. With support at this level (lacking), I would worry about the lights going out. And if that happens, what's the dependancy on the licenses? May not be an issue, or only when you want to move. Who knows. It's not likely to get a QUICK answer if I asked. :D


See ya!
gadgetologist
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 5:47 pm

Re: Sending variables from other application

Postby Ace » Sun Jul 17, 2011 11:35 am

I only been a forun support agent (MODERATOR) for short time, and many of the problems people post here i try to re-duplicate them so i can better understand what it is they are trying to ask.

Your answer to your question is, after reduplicating and trying i was unsuccessful in getting this to work.

However i think this is a good idea since many use this application for business, You should make this post of your in the Suggestion forum for new ideas. Maybe it will get added in any new updates.
Ace
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2009 3:05 pm
Location: USA

Re: Sending variables from other application

Postby rmcamps » Thu Jan 23, 2014 2:30 am

Hello,
I found a solution for directly chatting without prompting user name to user, and passing session data to agent.
The solution does not involve modifying sources. You need to create a php file, and this file will be the chat popup window who will receive parameter of user name.
If you still need the solution, answer me and I will detail the steps to make it.
rmcamps
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2014 2:20 am

Re: Sending variables from other application

Postby jezjones » Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:04 pm

@rmcamps your response on here is terrible.
There are a few posts above asking the same question, but once you found out you did not post it here.... and year on when someone is looking (ie. me) .. the information is lost.

So to dredge up the same question that has been answered already....

How do you pass parameters to the chat, namely the user's name.

Thanks,
jezjones
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:00 pm


Return to Global PHP and JavaScript

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron